Artist Membership

Lillian Lovitt Artist
LineToTake2.jpg.png

Become an Artist Member

The Hammond Museum and Japanese Stroll Garden in North Salem, New York, is an eminent cultural institution with generous exhibit spaces and a sculpture garden. Art exhibitions, musical performances, Japanese tea ceremonies, and other activities are just a few of the many cultural events offered. It is a unique and inspiring museum with a big heart, building an artist community locally and globally. 

Artist Membership   $38

Artist Family Membership   $55

 

Please contact HammondMuseumArtists@gmail.com for more information.

Open to artists worldwide in all art media and disciplines. The following are the additional benefits included in this membership:

  • Inclusion in the Hammond Museum Artists Directory page

  • Each artist section will include:

    • a photo of the artist

    • a photo of an artwork

    • the artist’s name

    • medium(s) artist works in

    • a link to the artist’s website or portfolio site (or an additional photo if no link available)

    • an artist statement or bio of up to 300 characters

    • a link to the artist ’s work on the Hammond Museum virtual exhibition page

  • Opportunity to show in the monthly virtual exhibitions on the Hammond Museum website - (read more below)

  • Juried exhibition opportunity to exhibit at the Hammond Museum and abroad

  • Cultural Trips in the US or International

  • Master Classes / Workshops - plein air painting - artist materials exchange, professional practices, and more…

  • New members are publicly welcomed in Facebook and Instagram posts

Submission Details

When you are joining as an Artist, please include the following in an email:

 

  • The name you want listed in your membership profile

  • The medium(s) you work in (Watercolors, photography, sculpture, etc…)

  • A link to your website or portfolio site

  • An artist statement or bio of up to 300 characters. This is generally about three sentences. Submissions longer than this will be edited down

  • A photo of you

  • Any three photos of your art – we will use one or two in your section for the full year

Please note: photos should be high-resolution: they must be at least 1,000px across, if you have it 1920px across is best.

Virtual Exhibitions

Curator

Bibiana Huang Matheis

The first Hammond Museum Virtual Exhibition opening is on Saturday, June 6 at 10:00 am.

Virtual Exhibition

Curated monthly exhibition for Hammond Museum Artist members that will be viewable on the Hammond’s virtual exhibition website. Each exhibit will stay online for a year.

Themes: Based on Color Paintings

Each month a painting will be posted to use as muse or inspiration for submissions. All visual media and styles - 2D, 3D, short film and video, installation, as well as short literary forms, music, and dance, are accepted. 

 

Images for June, July, and August 2020.

Monthly Submissions

To submit, you must be a Hammond Artist Member and email HammondMuseumArtists@gmail.com by the15th of each month for the following month’s virtual exhibition. Use this email if you have questions about submitting art.

For each submission please include in the email:

  • Artist name

  • Title of work

  • The filename of the JPG, PDF, or MP4

  • Media

  • Size

  • Price

  • Email address for public inquiries about art

  • Artist / Artwork Location

  • Required - Include a phone number and mailing address for Hammond purposes only

Accepted formats for artwork

JPG for visual art, PDF for literary form, MP4 for video, film, and music. JPGs should be at least 1,000 pixels across. MP4s must be at least 480p across. For additional questions regarding technical details about formats accepted, please email info@RAWdesignlab.com.

Accepted artworks

Artists will be notified by May 20 whether their artwork has been accepted.

Opening

Online publication of the Exhibition open 1st Saturday of each month with Virtual Artists Reception via Zoom at 10:00 a.m. New York Time to unveil the Hammond Virtual Exhibition.

10:00 am New York, 14:00 Casablanca, Reykjavik

15:00 London, 16:00 Berlin, Paris

18:00 Dubai, 19:30 Mumbai

22:00 Bali, Beijing, Taipei, 23:00 Tokyo, 

4:00 Honolulu, 7:00 am San Francisco

8:00 Taos, 9:00 Mexico City, 11:00 Buenos Aires

Sale

All artworks are eligible for sale / Buyers contact artists directly / Artists agree to donate 20% of all online sales back to Hammond Museum on an honor system / All shipping and/or customs fees are the responsibility of the buyers.

Agreement

By submitting works to Hammond Museum, exhibition artists agree to allow the images or words of accepted artworks to be used for publicity and archival purposes. Artists also agree to contribute $5 for each accepted work of art. There is no fee for submission or limit to how many artworks to submit. Artists will retain the copyright of their work published on the Hammond Museum website.

 

ArtFund

All the money raised from the artist memberships will go to an ArtFund dedicated to renovating the Clay Workshop and Art Studio and for expanding the Hammond's Art Education Programs for children and adults. Opening in Summer 2021. Any additional donations to the fund are gratefully accepted.

BECOME AN ARTIST MEMBER

Free admission, exclusive member events and special opportunities to join the life of the Hammond. Keep the Museum's mission growing by becoming a member.

hammond-logo-white.png

Hammond Museum & Japanese Stroll Garden

28 Deveau Road, North Salem, NY 10560

914-669-5033

gardenprogram@yahoo.com

© 2020 Hammond Museum & Japanese Stroll Garden. All rights reserved.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram